Canadian Summer

canadian summer

Canadian Summer, Bikinis and Long Socks, 2015

I’m looking at the still life in the everyday mundane things and exercising some spontaneity in my work as an ongoing exercise.

Been away from my studio for a few days, and I was thinking about the arrangement of things, closing the gap between art and life, not hiding my process and deskilling some of the technical things that often create boundaries and rules in my work.

20150815_145913_resized

Still Life and Two Steps Back, 2015

 

20150815_145653_resized

Back of Still Life, 2015

Looking at these shots has made me think about how my work has always been about the surface of things; I hide my process and technique and create formal arrangements that are often meticulously planned out. This got me thinking about how I have also been hiding the content by distracting the viewer. With saturated colors, scale, kitschy objects, toys, whimsy and humor I’m guilty of changing the subject and hiding more than revealing. I’ve only opened up tiny cracks in my work and I have tried to distract you with kittens, candy, shiny things and gum. Sorry…but they were nice visual euphemisms and you stayed with the artwork longer than you expected.

So taking these thoughts back to the studio I’m going to invite some of that chaos that is behind the photograph. What would happen if those little cracks in the work become bigger spaces? If I push things to an extreme, can I find the right measurement so that the work is loud without yelling? How can I keep the surface beauty, lure the viewer, and galvanize the viewer and invert those conventional codes of elegance? How can I keep the image accessible, juicy, dark, humorous, feminine, and kooky with a creeping decadence? Will the viewer want to look at a mess or will they turn away? I want you to stay with the artwork…don’t give me the average 30 seconds.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Canadian Summer

  1. No need to apologize for the nice visual euphemisms. I don’t know why you would think that you should. That being said, I am all for the cracks becoming larger, and having a louder voice (although I already thing that the voice of your work is deafening). Surface beauty is an odd thing, and luring the viewer is a lot about curiosity I believe (Witkin, Meatyard, Weegee, etc….). I wouldn’t try to hard to keep the work looking “feminine” as I think that will happen all on it’s own. My work was called “too masculine” and I didn’t try at all… Your work is a reflection of who you are, and you, are feminine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

