Kitsch

Research Paper 2 was all about the kitsch.

Starting with questions like:Where does kitsch begin? What does kitsch really mean? (as I suspect that the word is often used incorrectly). What is wrong with kitsch anyways? And… why does it stay? And ending with more questions, but some good ones to think about as I’m making art.

I feel like I just scratched the surface. Research included seminal work by Clement Greenberg, Gillo Dorfles and Robert Solomon. I included some bits about a great talk I attended last year at the MOCCA by Erik Anderson which explores the confusing concepts of cheese.

I’m finding kitschy things are good to have around as part of making art, and right now I’m thinking a new pair of FUN shoes could make me a better artist.

 

20150331_113617_Richtone(HDR)_resized

My Harajuku Lovers Shoes

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Kitsch

Leave a Reply

