tell me a story or not

detail_jesus loves you

The one thing that kept coming up during the critiques was the narrative, or the lack of narrative. It seems that people really want a story within the image and are looking and looking within the cluttered arrangement. After writing my residency report and thinking about this single re-occurring comment I realize that it may have inadvertently been influenced by Pirandello’s play which refuses to follow a conventional storyline and leaves the audience frustrated. I think there is an implied narrative in the work and a lot of blank spaces. I was thinking about experimenting with little narratives in the new work but my advisor Lynne Cooke pointed out that the work is “effectively teasing the viewer” and I should push back rather than give in to the narrative. She also suggested to “create tensions and frustrating easy desires”.

Leave a Reply

